Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

IMG_2278

There are few things in the food world that go together as perfectly as buffalo chicken and blue cheese. I don’t mean to get deep, but they are soul mates and the definition of opposites attract. The heat from the buffalo chicken combined with the sharp, soft, and cool blue cheese creates a taste so unique and harmonious that there is nothing that can compare. If blue cheese and buffalo chicken were Disney characters, they would certainly live happily ever after.

Ironically, I used to loathe blue cheese—yet thankfully, nothing lasts forever, even cold November rain (and my disapproval for this particular cheese and dressing). As I’ve aged, my taste buds have altered greatly. I used to refuse to eat spicy foods, however, I now find myself obsessed with any kind of cuisine containing heat and spice. I’ve always been the type to push limits, and spicy foods are one of the ways I like to test my own personal parameters. So when I came across a few recipes for slow cooker buffalo chicken sandwiches, I knew I had to make them—and as spicy as possible. I’m not ashamed to admit it, but I definitely live to eat and not the other way around.

The slow cooker buffalo chicken sandwiches were hot and wonderful. I tried to make my sandwich as close to a buffalo chicken wing as possible by loading on crumbled blue cheese, blue cheese dressing, pieces of celery, some red onion, and Bibb lettuce for an extra crunch (and bit of coolness). If you’re not one for extreme spice, you can replace hot buffalo sauce with its milder form. The chicken is extremely lean, but you would have no idea as it’s packed with taste, and it makes me feel less guilty for loading on two different kinds of blue cheese. In addition, these sandwiches are extremely easy to prepare, making the experience that much more enjoyable. Just a bit of advice, eat the sandwiches with a large beverage by your side—don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken and Blue Cheese Sandwiches

IMG_2280

Ingredients:

-3 boneless, 98% fat-free chicken breasts

-2 12 ounce bottles of Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo Sauce, or your preferred buffalo sauce (You won’t use both bottles, more like a bottle and half, so keep that in mind. Also, if you want to reduce the spice, use the milder sauce).

-¼ cup to ½ cup chicken broth (enough that the chicken breasts are almost submerged in the sauce and broth)

-2 Tbsp of dry ranch salad dressing packet

-1 Tbsp butter or margarine (if desired)

-Dash of salt

-Sandwich buns of your choice

-A few slices of red onion

-Blue cheese crumbles

-Blue cheese dressing

-1 to 2 celery stalks, chopped

-Bibb lettuce

Directions:

-Place the chicken breasts on the bottom of the slow cooker and sprinkle with a little bit of salt.

-Pour in about one and a quarter bottles worth of the buffalo sauce.

-Pour in the chicken broth (enough that the chicken breasts are completely submerged).

-Sprinkle in the dry ranch dressing and lightly stir the contents.

-Cook on low for 6 hours or on high for 4 hours.

-Once the contents have cooked, shred the chicken with two forks and place back in the slow cooker with the tbsp of butter/margarine. Mix well.

IMG_2209

-When making your sandwich, make sure to use a slotted spoon so you don’t soak your break.

IMG_2214

-Assemble your sandwich as you see fit. I chose to put the Bibb lettuce down first to act as a barrier for the liquid. I then added a bit more buffalo sauce, the blue cheese crumbles, red onion, and celery on top of the chicken. I spread the blue cheese dressing on the top bun.

IMG_2215 IMG_2222 IMG_2227 IMG_2259

IMG_2286

-Enjoy, but be warned: these sandwiches are spicy, so make sure you have a beverage by your side.

One thought on “Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

