These Socks are Made for Crawling

I’ve been nannying off and on for over ten years. Following my college graduation, I worked a few “professional” jobs that I couldn’t tolerate, never lasting more than a few months at a time in an office setting. Seriously, if an email address, an office chair, and professional work attire are required for a position, I DON’T WANT IT! With that in mind, I’ve been extremely lucky working multiple roles as a modern day Mary Poppins. I love kids and have an exuberant amount of patience for them (not so much with adults), which is why I do what I do.

My current position entails taking care of a 9-month-old baby girl. She started crawling about a month and a half ago and has been on the move ever since. She’s quite the interested infant and loves to explore the confines of her urban condo. There is a drawback, however, and that is that most of our time is spent in the great room–which only has one medium sized area rug–forcing the 9-month-old crawler to cruise on the hard wood floor. Not only is the floor cold, but it’s obviously hard on her little knees. On days when she wears pants, the floor is no issue; but since it’s summertime in the south, she’s regularly dressed in the typical onesie to keep cool.

Whilst wasting time on pinterest the other day, I came across a pin about “babylegs” and I knew I had to make them (find babylegs here: http://www.sisterssuitcaseblog.com/2012/08/diy-babylegs-guest-post-from-courtney.html). The blogger I referenced used a sewing tactic to make her leggings, but I didn’t want to put in the sewing effort as I’ve only done so in home economics class back in junior high school over 15 years ago (writing that makes me feel old). I therefore skipped the sewing part, and to my benefit, the leggings actually turned out quite well. The leggings roll a bit on the ends, but that doesn’t deter them from protecting chubby, little legs and knees that are constantly on the move. This was a simple and easy project that took under 15 minutes to complete three different pairs of crawler leggings.

photo 3 (7)

Materials:

-Knee socks (I used three pairs purchased from Target)

-Marker

-Scissors

-Straight edge to trace the cut-off line (I used a credit card)

Instructions:

-Lay out the socks as evenly as possible on a flat surface

photo 1 (8)

-Take your straight edge and align it as straight as possible just above the heel of the sock. With the marker, draw a straight line above the heel that is parallel with the top hem of the sock.
photo 2 (7)

-With the scissors, cut along the line as evenly as possible.photo 3 (5)

-And there are your crawler leggings. Do what you please with the foot of the sock (I’m using them as little hand puppets). I find it easiest to flip the socks when putting them on baby: ie. put the cut end up on the thighs, leaving the hemmed part of the sock on the ankles.photo 4 (5)But what do they look like on a baby? Adorable is the only word that comes to mind.

photo 4 (6) photo 2 (9) photo 3 (6) photo 1 (10)

2 thoughts on “These Socks are Made for Crawling

Leave a Reply

